Kitchen Cart

I have this kitchen cart from Ikea:

FÖRHÖJA Kitchen Cart

Originally, I bought this cart to add more storage to my small studio in San Francisco.  It appealed to me because it was unfinished and left me the option of painting or staining it any color I like.

I am embarrassed to admit that I bought this cart 6 1/2 years ago (eek!).  Mind you, I did leave for nearly 3 years and lived in South Africa and London.  I am totally making excuses for not finishing this project but let’s focus on the positive; I am committing myself to painting this cart over the weekend.

Let’s get off the topic of guilt and focus on better, happier thoughts: paint colors!  I thought about staining this fine piece of furniture but that seems so, well, boring.  I am more interested in painting it a bold color.  Currently the color palette in my apartment is:

The color scheme above is mixed with bright pops of white and black.

Now, maybe I am being a little too bold but I am kind of in love with the idea of painting my cart gold.  Yes.  Gold.  Is that crazy?  I suppose I could go with white and call it a day but that just seems so boring… I think I will go home tonight, clean the cart and deeply consider what color this hugely neglected piece of furniture should be.  Did I mention the possibility of gray?  That could be nice too.

Pictures to follow next week. xo

Leave a Reply

