Mixed Feelings.

President Obama has announced that the U.S. will be entering Libya’s war torn country to help the opposition.  He made sure never to say that he is helping Libyan Rebels, just the opposition to Moammar Gadhafi.

My emotions are mixed on the whole thing.  On one hand I feel terrible for the Libyan people and the struggle they are going through in order to get their freedom.  No one wants to see a massacre.  As an American, I am personally fed up with war.  I feel as if my whole life has been littered with wars that I do not agree with.  It is heart aching to know that millions of Americans are struggling to keep a roof over their head and food in their bellies while our government enters yet another war with our tax dollars.  Selfish as I may sound, it is truly the way that I feel, particularly with my own family members struggling.

There are and have been so many countries that are suffering from oppressive and violent leadership and yet we pick and choose which ones we would like to assist and others we leave to rot.  The war in Iraq showed clear motives that had nothing to do with 9/11 and more to do with stuffing a small elite’s pockets.  I am hopeful that these aren’t the same reasons behind the assistance that we are providing for Libya and for everyone’s sake, I hope that the rebels we are assisting wont just be another puppet regime controlled by the U.S. Government.

Hope.

NewsArticleonTheSubject

Leave a Reply

