Inspiration comes when you least expect it.

I just finished reading “The Alchemist” by: Paulo Choelo about a week ago, and I must say my timing for reading this inspiring book couldn’t have been better.  As those who know me are aware of, I am making a move to San Francisco on my own, and I literally married my South African Husband a few weeks ago.  He cannot come with me and I must set up everything on my own.

According to the U.S. Government, I must meet strict requirements, such as steady employment for three months that can support the two of us above the poverty line, as well as a place of residence with a lease in my name.  It does not matter that we have lived together for two years or that we are married.  I must prove that he will not be a cost to my government.  This doesn’t even include the exorbitant costs that a lawyer and visa fees will incur.  Welcome the fuck home newlyweds!

I am anxious, of course.  I am scared, yes.  I am excited to see my friends and family.  I am beyond joyful that I am returning to the land of high-speed, unlimited bandwidth internet, amazing shopping, Mexican food, current television and movies, safe and efficient public transport, and that I will be able to walk just about wherever I want, whenever I like and that I no longer have to shit myself when I forget to lock a door.  Bye Bye electric fences, 10ft walls, barbed wire, key tags and crazy crowded kombi taxis.

Despite the excitement and things I wont miss, there are several things that I will long for- I will miss my new friends, my job, my new family, my new home.   I will be sad that there will be no more rotis, samoosas, gorgeous views, amazing hiking, stunning wine lands or amazing beaches.  I may even miss the simplicity and lack of attachment I have to technology here.  I will miss Jakkalsfontein.  Eastern Cape, I think part of my soul resides with you.  This has become my home and I no longer walk with fear or intimidation here.  Perhaps I am tougher than I was when I arrived.

Such a mix of emotion and anticipation.  I know I will succeed because I am one who believes in the power of my mind and spirit.  My mind and spirit scream from their very depths, that this is what I am meant to do. That I am capable and all will turn out the way it is meant to.

“The Alchemist” just reaffirmed the way I was feeling.

Passages from the novel I found inspiring:

“And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

“When someone makes a decision, he is really diving into a strong current that will carry him to places he had never dreamed of when he first made the decision.”

“There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.”

“When we strive to become better than we are, everything around us becomes better too.”

“When you want something with all your heart, that’s when you are closest to the Soul of the World. It’s always a positive force.”

2 thoughts on “Inspiration comes when you least expect it.

  1. I love love love that book. Paulo Coehlo is so inspiring. Just like you, Rachey. I know you’ll get all of that bullshit taken care of and you and Gareth will be together in San Fran in no time at all. You are such a ray of sunshine. I cant wait to see you…and talk to you in person. Can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

