Dr. Suess

I was walking around San Francisco with a friend one warm afternoon popping in and out of little shops and art dealers when we stumbled upon a collection of art by Dr. Suess.  Being a huge fan, I was absolutely delighted to see more creativity from this classic author.  I knew that he had illustrated his own books, but I had no idea that he also did sculptures and various other art mediums.   I was lucky enough a couple years later to run into the collection again while paying a visit to the beautiful little town of Sausalito with Gareth.  It was even more lovely the second time around.

I was particularly amazed at his ‘Unorthodox Taxidermy” collection.  Dr. Suess’ father worked in a local zoo and whenever an animal passed away, he would take their horns and make a quirky animal that came out of his brilliant mind.

The results were just as awe inspiring as his books that I grew up with.  If only I had the money to purchase one… sigh

http://www.drseussart.com/taxi.html

A few of Dr. Suess’ brilliant quotes:

“If things start happening, don’t worry, don’t stew, just go right along and you’ll start happening too.”

“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.”

“I’m afraid that sometimes you’ll play lonely games too. Games you can’t win ’cause you’ll play against you.”

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

 

2 thoughts on “Dr. Suess

  1. Ryan and I stumbled upon that Dr. Seuss gallery in Sausalito on Valentine’s Day! Then we asked the posh art dealers if they knew where any dive bars were and their faces looked as if I had just asked them if they ever farted.

    I actually used to sell all of this Dr. Seuss art in Sacramento. Yep, I was once a fancy art dealer…..haha We even had an exibit at the State Fair in which we featured about fifty pieces of his. I never once sold one though–they were always so expensive!

    Again, I am so excited for your wedding! Knock ’em dead, hot stuff!

  2. Haha, when were you an art dealer and why am I not surprised? I thought I knew all about your mysterious past. I bet you were much cooler than those lame-no-dive-bar-going art dealers in Sausalito (they always make me feel like I need to whisper).

Leave a Reply

